Cliff diving

World´s Most Prestigious Cliff Diving Series Is On Again

After a record-breaking season opener in Texas, with the maiden win of Poland’s Kris Kolanus, the 27m platform on top of Bilbao’s La Salve Bridge is the take-off strip for the year’s first aesthetic free falls on European soil. The men will continue their battle for the King Kahekili trophy when they dive in front of the iconic Guggenheim Museum Bilbao as the sport’s current heavyweights, record winner Gary Hunt (GBR) and Mexico´s Jonathan Paredes, will need to step up their game after a disappointing start into the anniversary season.
28. 6. 2018

Jonathan Paredes (MEX) and Gary Hunt (GBR) need to step up their game after poor season start, Cliff Diving Series is heading to Europe– Bilbao (ESP), 30. June 2018

After opening this year’s account with his debut victory, Kolanus returns to the place where he achieved his first ever podium in 2014, while the ‘brilliant Brit’ Hunt will try to shine again in a place where he was crowned champion three seasons ago. 2017 World Series champion and Madrid-resident Jonathan Paredes (MEX) has the added motivation of performing in front of his adopted home crowd. Following his poor 10th-place finish in Texas, the 28-year-old aims for an immaculate display of his complete list during the second of seven stops to better his opening.

Standings (after 1 of 7 stops)

1- Kris Kolanus POL - 200 Pts

2- Michal Navratil CZE – 160 Pts

3- Blake Aldridge GBR – 130 Pts

4- Andy Jones USA – 110 Pts

5- Sergio Guzman (W) MEX – 90 Pts

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2018 stops:

02. June 2018 – Texas (USA)

 30. June 2018 – Bilbao (ESP)

 14. July 2018 - São Miguel, Azores (POR)

 05. August 2018 – Sisikon (SUI)

 25. August 2018 – Kopenhagen (DEN)

 08. September 2018 – Mostar (BIH)

 23. September 2018 – Polignano a Mare (ITA)

28. 6. 2018

Back to summary